Two a Days

Posted: November 4, 2010 in GENERAL

Today is the first of several two-a-day Thursdays that I will be doing for this challenge.  For anyone who doesn’t know, when I say two-a-days, it means I’m doing two workouts in one day.  In this case, two 45 minute workouts to be exact.

This won’t be the first time I’ve done two workouts in a day.  I’ve done it several times in the past.  The only difference is I’ve never been consistent with it.  Some people have told me I’m crazy for trying this. But “crazy” I think is a very over the top word to describe this.  Come on –  it’s one day out of a whole week.  Figure competitors do it much more often than that.  So do other athletes.  Although I’m not a bodybuilder and can’t play any sport to save my life (really it’s bad trust me), I don’t think it’s crazy at all.  In fact, I can probably do it more often than once a week.  However, I’m a big fan of setting challenging but realistic goals.  So I’ve limited myself to once a week for sure and more often if I feel like it.

Why two-a-days?  There are so many “fitness” reasons I can give you but none of them are actually my reasons for doing it.  I like two-a-days for two reasons.  One – it’s a challenge. Enough said on that reason.  Two – there is a psychological benefit for me.  Sometimes after a workout I feel something is missing.  Don’t get me wrong –  I BUST my you-know-what every time.  For those who have seen my workouts, you know I bring it.  But, still sometimes I have that one more thing that I wanted to do but just couldn’t because I was either too beat or too busy.

That’s where the second workout comes in.  If I did weights but was looking over at the treadmill, I’ll hop on it for my second workout.  If I did a hard leg day and hit my limit but still wanted to do some different exercises, I’ll do those for my second workout.  If I got in some legs, but thought hey I should really be working on try to reach that unassisted pull up goal (that’s a whole long story for another post), I’ll do some upper body work for my second routine.

So, basically the second workout helps me fill any gaps I felt I had, which by the way also helps me concentrate on the first workout.  If I know I have a second chance to get to those “other” exercises, my mind doesn’t wander at all.  I stay focused and committed during the first workout.  Ok, so there are three reasons really.

Truth is, I don’t really see a downside to two-a-days – other than my muscles may want a divorce.  Haha.

 

Leave a Reply

