Something old, Something new, Something borrowed, Something blue

Posted: November 8, 2010 in GENERAL

No, I’m not talking about the old wedding saying.  In this case, I’m talking about the exercises I learned this week.  As promised here are three new exercises for you:

1.  So let’s start with the something old. If you hit up like the gym regularly, you have probably seen or done a dead lift.  I used to do the following modification all the time.  Note the key words there – “used to”. In fact, it’s been such a long time that I forgot about it completely.  That’s why it’s earned it’s place in the three new exercises of the week. So, the first exercise is the Single-arm, Single-leg Romanian Dead Lift.  It is exactly what it sounds like.  You do a dead lift but for this one you do it one leg while holding a dumbell in one arm.  Now, I don’t have a video but I do have a link that you can cut and paste the following link and view for yourself.

http://www.acefitness.org/exerciselibrary/127/single-arm-single-leg-romanian-dead-lift

2.  This covers the something new.  For my second exercise, all I have been hearing lately is kettlebell this kettlebell that.  I didn’t have a kettlebell and really didn’t see much point in getting one.  However, then I saw this following exercise on You Tube and I just had to try it.  Now, I have done the clean and press many times.  It’s a great power move.  This, however, is a whole new take on the move which uses my new friend, the kettlebell:

By the way, it is also the something blue because that’s the color of my new kettlebell.  I know, I know.  Knowing that just makes your life complete, doesn’t it?  Haha

3.  This whole post comes from “borrowed” exercises so we got that covered.  With that, the third exercise this week is called the Swiss Ball L Raise.  I’ve done all kinds of shoulder and exercise ball exercises but never quite combined them in this way.  This one is great for backless dresses and bathing suits.  Again, no video but you can still check it out by cutting and pasting below.

http://health.msn.com/fitness/womens-fitness/slideshow.aspx?cp-documentid=100251408&imageindex=8&q=Upper+Back%3a+Swiss-Ball+L+Raise

To mix up your workout, give these a shot.  Or better yet, find some new ones of your own and let me know.  Remember, one of the keys to fitness is mixing it up or as some call it, muscle confusion.  You have to keep pushing your body with different exercises to see real results.  That simply won’t happen by just doing the same old routines.  Keep it fresh, keep it fit.

Comments
  1. Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with
    SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success.

    If you know of any please share. Thank you!

  2. It’s going to be finish of mine day, however before finish I am reading this wonderful article to increase my know-how.

Leave a Reply

