Mix It Up – Gym Workout

Posted: November 11, 2010 in WORKOUTS & CHALLENGES

This is one of my favorite routines.  I LOVE racking up the miles on the bike and treadmill. But, after awhile, I crave something different.  This routine uses different forms of cardio and some weight training.

Before I tell you the routine, let me a word (and only a word because again I’m not a trainer so I don’t know all the technical terms here) on weight training – this is especially for you ladies.  Too many of you shy away from weights because you feel that you are going to bulk up.  So not true.  First of all, by adding lean muscle, you are actually increasing the speed at which your body burns fat because muscle burns fat.  You will get leaner faster if you have a little bit of muscle on you.  Second, you ladies are NOT men.  We do not have the testosterone that they do.  As a result, in order to look anywhere near bulky, you would have to follow a serious nutrition plan and do some really REALLY intense training.  Third, what’s wrong with a little muscle anyway?  Strong is the new sexy 😉

That said let’s start talking about this workout.  You will need three DIFFERENT types of cardio machines.  You can choose from the treadmills, bikes, arc trainers, rowing machines, ellipticals, steppers, jacob’s ladder, stair climbers.  Just pick any three you like.  However, avoid choosing three similar machines.  For example, spin bikes, stationary bikes and recumbent bikes are all, well, bikes – so that’s not the idea.  You will also need a bench press OR leg press – which one you choose depends on what you feel like that day.  I’ll give you a hint – leg press is harder.

To explain the workout, I’m going to chose the bike, treadmill, elliptical and bench press.  And without any more babbling from me here is my Mix It Up Gym Workout:

Warm up for 5 minutes on the bike (or whatever machine is first)

5 minutes on the bike (at a moderate to fast pace)

15 reps on bench press

5 minutes on the treadmill (at a moderate to fast pace)

15 reps on bench press (This is a cardio workout so we aren’t going heavy here.  But you should be feeling it.  As a rule of thumb, the last three reps should be HARD.  If you’ve never done this, start with just the bar.  Add 5 pounds to each side from there.)

5 minutes on the elliptical (at a moderate to fast pace)

15 reps on bench press

Now, repeat this a second time BUT this time you are going to do the machines in reverse order and pick up the pace. So it will look like this:

5 minutes on the elliptical (your max speed)

15 reps on bench press

5 minutes on the treadmill (your max speed)

15 reps on bench press

5 minutes on the bike (your max speed)

15 reps on bench press

After that, you are going to do the first set again:

5 minutes on the bike (at a moderate to fast pace)

15 reps on bench press

5 minutes on the treadmill (at a moderate to fast pace)

15 reps on bench press

5 minutes on the elliptical (at a moderate to fast pace)

15 reps on bench press

Finally, finish with off with some Tabata.

You can choose either bodyweight squats or bodyweight dead lifts.  For those of you who don’t know, Tabata is a form of interval training that can be done with any exercises really.  To do it, you perform the exercise for 20 seconds, rest for 10 seconds and repeat that 8 times.    This time you have to go through it once BUT make sure you do as many as you can in 20 seconds – you should be pushing it but maintaining proper form.

After that, you are done!!!  Not so bad, right?  Go stretch and relax.  When you get home, don’t forget to let me know how you did.

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    This is the workout I was doing twice a week when I lost 15 pounds last year. It is an ass kicking workout and I loved it. When I didn’t have the machines available I used the jump rope for 5 minutes instead.

    • Really? That’s soooooo funny. Is it your workout? Or did you see it somewhere else? I guess I share a brain with u or someone out there because I came up with this one myself one day at the gym. Was it exactly the same? I’m so glad it worked for u!!!! If u didn’t come up with it, do you remember when you saw it? I’d like to see what other workouts the person has.

  2. Rachael – Wow! This looks REALLY hard! Love the interval, diff machines & weights. You are brilliant! I WILL do this! Hmmmm – wonder if I can do this in my next hotel???? Thanks so much for sharing!

    • You’re so welcome. And I can’t wait to try your workout!! It looks like just my style. This one I posted is certainly a challenge. But remember, you can modify this as you need to. Still though after seeing your workout, I think you got this 🙂

  3. Carrie says:

    I did it! That was amazing! I did the treadmill, bike and elliptical as my three machines. It was a bit tricky on the Monday after a holiday weekend at my gym that was really crowded. I’m a novice at free weights, so I picked an overhead press machine to do the weight reps. I thought I picked a weight a bit too light, but by the last reps, I was working hard.

    I contemplated ditching the Tabata segment. I was tired. But I did full squats and I’m so happy I followed through with the whole workout.

    Thank you! I’m going to keep this workout on my schedule especially with my 10K training for my cross training days. I think my shoulders and thighs will be screaming tomorrow. I really needed that!!!!!

Leave a Reply

