Burpee Hanging Leg Raise

Posted: December 10, 2010 in GENERAL, WORKOUTS & CHALLENGES

THIS ONE IS FOR MY ADVANCED READERS ONLY.  I don’t suggest my beginners try this.  Instead, you folks keep it in mind for when you get stronger.

This is one of my absolute favorites.  I used to do this combination all of the time in law school and haven’t tried it awhile.  It’s so advanced that I actually could not find the exercises combined anywhere on the internet.  So, I am going to do my best to describe it for you.

I call the move the burpee hanging leg raise.  First, what’s a burpee and hanging leg raise?  If you don’t know, check out this site http://www.fitness-and-bodybuilding-workouts.com/core-strength-workouts.html and scroll down to view exercises #13 and #14. Both of these moves are hard enough on their own.  Of course then, the challenge would be to combine the two.  So, here’s how it’s going to go.

1.  Find a chin up bar.  Stand underneath it.  That’s easy enough, right?

2.  Perform one burpee BUT when you jump up to standing the idea is to jump on so that you are hanging from the bar.  You may have to do this in two moves.  One – jump up to standing from the burpee.  Two – reach for the bar and hang.  However you do it just get up there and then move to step 3.

3.  So now that you are hanging from the bar I want you to perform one hanging leg raise.  Jump back down from the bar and start over.

The idea is to make this as fluid as possible.  It should go burpee, hanging leg raise, burpee, hanging leg raise.

The goal is to see how many you can do before you have to stop.  I’m going to give it a shot and post my reps here.  If you want to go for it, let me know how you did!  Good luck.

Leave a Reply

