#JanGTD Guide

Posted: December 26, 2010 in GENERAL, WORKOUTS & CHALLENGES

Hi folks.  I’m so honored to be a part of #JanGTD and I love what @FatGirlvsWorld has been doing with you in past #GTD challenges.  For #JanGTD, we are going to be picking it up a notch and adding in some strength training routines.   Although cardio is great, strength training is necessary to a well rounded fitness routine.  With that said, I’ve set up some great workouts for that have been separated into three categories – beginner, intermediate and expert.  Because I can not be there with you, please use your own judgment as to what category you belong in and you are going to have to be my rock stars and teach yourself the routines.  It is always recommended that you consult a fitness professional or physician before beginning any new fitness program and you are engaging in this program at your own risk. The best thing is always to have an individual program designed for you to meet your individual needs and goals. However, since I can’t be there to do that, these are great general fitness routines to get you started.

That said, I’m super excited for all you.  This is going to be a great learning experience as well as an opportunity to take your fitness to the next level.  In preparing these workouts for you, my goal was not only to help you to get into better shape but to help you start to train.  I’ve always said there is a big difference between exercising and training.  Exercising you are just going through the motions.  In training, you are working towards a specific goal and gaining knowledge along the way.  So, the exercises I chose are designed to not only get you in shape but to teach you how to move, balance and work with your body.  I hope that comes across as you are going through #JanGTD.  I realize that some may not be familiar with some of the moves I chosen.  That’s ok because this a GREAT time for you to learn.  You have a few options on how to do that.  First, I’m ALWAYS available to my readers and I will extend that offer to any of #JanGTD participants.  You can post comments with questions, email me at fitnessgauntlet@gmail.com or tweet me @brooklyn_1012.  If you happen to be a New York Sports Club member, we can actually set up a time to meet at the location where I work as a Floor Trainer.   I’d be happy to walk you through anything you need.  Other than me, there are other options available to you.  Google and YouTube are amazing resources.  You would be surprised at what you can find with a simple search.  To you beginners, I definitely recommend YouTube versus Google because I think you need to see the moves rather than just read about them.  I also suggest that you be careful about what videos you rely on.  Try to choose videos prepared by trainers rather than some show off looking to brag about how fabulous they are.  Trust me – you will know the difference when you see it.  Another amazing resource is the American Council on Exercise’s website.  Their address is www.acefitness.org. Many of my moves are from there. I strongly encourage you to view their exercise library which can be found under the Ace GetFit tab (fifth from the left on the menu at the top of their page).  Yet another useful website is www.livestrong.com.  For you advanced warriors out there, check out bodybuilding.com and t-nation.com.  I think you will like them.

To get you guys started, I want to throw a few things your way.  I selected what I thought were the move complicated moves and am including here either a video or a website where you can view the exercises.  When needed, just cut and paste the address into your browser.

To make it easy to find them, you will see that everything is divided into categories.  So, the beginner moves are listed under beginner, intermediate under intermediate and expert under you guessed it – expert.  Let’s roll:

BEGINNER

1.  Three-way lunge – Note:  This person is using a weight here. You don’t have to.  In fact, I prefer you don’t ESPECIALLY is you have never done lunges before.  All three lunges (front, side and back) have to finished to complete one rep.  This is a toughie but a great learning tool for you newbies.

2.  Dirty Dog

http://www.acefitness.org/exerciselibrary/109/dirty-dog

3.  Superman

http://www.acefitness.org/exerciselibrary/9/supermans

4.  Plank

Folks, if I had to pick a favorite exercise, this would be it. In my humble opinion, this is the most effective ab exercise out there.  It is super important to strength your core.  If you do not have stability there, well forget it.  Please please master this one.  It’s challenging at first but  you’ll thank me later.  ACE lists this as an intermediate exercise.  However, there are differences in opinion on that throughout the industry.  I can tell you, again in my humble opinion, that this is one of the first exercises I did and I believe a beginner can absolutely do this.

http://www.acefitness.org/exerciselibrary/32/front-plank

INTERMEDIATE

1.  Push up with T-Raise – The video below was the best explanation I could find but it only shows the T-Raise.  However, what I want you guys actually doing is a push up with the T-Raise.  So when you are in the push up position do a push up AND THEN go into the T-Raise on one side, come back to the center, do another push up, and then do a T-Raise on the alternate side.

2.  Mason Twist

3.  Reverse lunge with Knee Raise – Practice this one.  It’s not easy as first.  However, this is great learning tool.  It forces many different muscle groups to work together. If you master this, a whole new world of exercises with be available to you.

http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/videos/m/32072192/reverse-lunge-with-knee-lift.htm

4.  Woodchoppers

http://www.livestrong.com/video/5085-core-training-woodchopper/

5.  Sumo squat with side kick – Here is a video and text explanation of the move.  One thing I wanted to point out though.  You don’t need to squat to parallel at first if you can’t.  But, it’s great if you can because that will add to the effectiveness of this move. Second, you don’t need to kick as high as those demonstrating the exercise.  At first, you can shoot for kicking above the ankle, then the knee and then go for it.  So keep that progression in mind if you don’t have that flexibility quite yet.

http://www.health.com/health/article/0,,20410609,00.html

http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/videos/m/32070497/sumo-kick.htm

6.  Squat Rows – This is another GREAT exercise.  It works so many muscles all the same time so doing this is going to super charge your workout.  Practice, practice, practice.  Oh and ladies, just because it’s published in Men’s Health does NOT mean you can’t do it.  Matter of fact, this is an exercise I’ve included in my personal workouts for nearly three years.

http://www.menshealth.com/fitness/exercise

7.  Hand to Foot Stability Ball Pass – A couple of notes here.  This is a tough one. If you can’t do it, try mastering just the upper body crunch and lower body crunch separately.  On the other hand, if you find that you have mastered this, try doing it with straight legs.  That brings the move to a whole new level.

EXPERT – Many of the moves in this category are challenging.  They have earned their place in the Expert category.  I can do them but I was training for over a year before I even tried them.  Unless the intermediate exercises are super easy for you, I would not attempt these quite yet.  But don’t worry, we’ll get you there.  All in good time πŸ™‚

1.  Iron Cross

http://www.bodybuilding.com/exercises/detail/view/name/iron-cross?mcid=WEXER00000

2.  Hanging Leg Raise

http://www.ab-core-and-stomach-exercises.com/hanging-leg-raises.html

3.  Bulgarian Split Squat – This is a hard one.  I recommend trying this one without weight at first.  Get used to and good at the form.  Add the weight when you feel ready.  In adding weight, please start out lightly.

http://www.menshealth.com/powertraining/cms/publish/knee-dominant-uni/Bulgarian_Split_Squat.php

4.  Clean and press and Deadlifts

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/south30.htm

5.  One arm snatch

http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance/the_perfect_snatch

6.  Good Mornings

http://www.livestrong.com/video/2527-do-good-morning-exercise/

7.  Speed skaters

http://training.strengthengine.com/fitness_info/exercise828.html

8.  Jump Lunges – The video demonstrates a weighted version of this move.  However, if you have never done these before, start out with no weights.

Read first http://www.livestrong.com/article/3720-need-jump-lunges/ and then watch video below

9.  Box Jumps

http://www.livestrong.com/video/5306-box-jumps/

10.  One-arm Dumbbell Swings – If you need to, you can swing with both hands until you are ready to do these with just one-arm

http://shahtraining.com/one-arm-dumbbell-swing-exercise/

Well folks with that I’ve done my part.  Now, it’s time for you to put the work in.  Remember, I’m here for you if you need help.  Let’s get moving! Go to @fatgirlvsworld’s blog to read about the challenge and add your name to her spreadsheet to get started.

Comments
  1. Robby says:

    You are so awesome for putting this together. Thank you!

  2. Patrick says:

    Boat loads of info here… I’ve been there since OctGTD and I’ll be there for JanGTD.

Leave a Reply

