It’s New Year’s Day. Time to Work

Posted: January 1, 2011 in GENERAL, WORKOUTS & CHALLENGES

Hi all.  Happy New Year!!!  I hope everyone had a great night and are ready to work.  Bit of advice – Leave 2010 in 2010.  Start fresh.  It’s a New Year and a perfect time to work on the new you!  Some of you have asked for new bodyweight workouts and I thought today would be a perfect time.  Here is an explosive workout that you can do right at home.  It’s a bit on the intermediate to advanced side so remember to modify as needed.  Most of all – have fun with it.  As always, if you have any questions, hit me up here or on Twitter @Brooklyn_1012.  Let’s get it!

Let’s start with a dynamic warm up.  The words in red are links to demonstrations.  Click on them if you need help.  We are going to go through this once without stopping:

Jog in place (45 seconds)

20 jumping jacks

20 walking lunges

5 inchworms

20 Reverse Lunges with Twist

15 squats

40 mountain climbers

20 hip swings on each side

20 Glute Bridges

I hope you are warm by now.  If not, go through that one more time.

When you are ready, let’s go with set 1:

45 second high knee run in place (knee over hip) – LAND SOFTLY!!

15 push ups (go to your knees or do wall push up if these are too hard for you)

20 squat kicks

30 bicycles

Repeat Set 1 three times with no rest in between exercises and 60 seconds of rest between sets.  When you have done all three sets, rest 90 seconds and then move on to Set 2:

Jump rope 45 seconds (If you don’t have a jump rope, that’s fine.  You can mimic the movement)

12 Walking push ups

60 Mountain Climbers

24 side lunges (12 on each side)

1 minute plank (If you can’t hold 1 min, just hold it as long as you can)

Repeat Set 2 three times with no rest in between exercises and 60 seconds of rest between sets.  When you have done all three sets, rest 90 seconds and then move on to Set 3:

1 minute Wall Squat

15 squat holds (Perform squat and hold at bottom for 15 seconds)

12 bird dog holds

Repeat Set 3 three times with no rest in between exercises and 60 seconds of rest between sets.  Then, take a two minute rest because the last thing you are going to do is what I call a burn out set.  Burn out sets are really challenging but they are designed to keep your body burning fat for hours after your work is done.  If you are already wiped, stop here.  But if you want more, here we go:

15 burpees

20 jump squats

60 mountain climbers

20 jump lunges

Repeat the burnout set up to three times.  NO rest until you are done with all three sets!  I told you it was hard.

And that’s it!!  You’re done.  Good work folks.


Comments
  1. Alison says:

    I just started the #JanGTD program and I was using the Beginner I strength circuit. I assumed that the entire workout was one circuit, so 3 reps of each full set = 1 circuit. I did see on your #JAnGTD spreadsheet that you did 9 circuits. Now, I’m curious if you count each set as a circuit or if you did that many because of your personal training. I guess I’m just confused about the terminology here.

    Thanks in advance for clarification! (btw, I LOVED the workout. Rally sore but in a good way, I know that I made some serious progress last night. Can’t wait to do it again!)

    • Yay!!! I’m so glad you liked it hun. Thank you for taking the time to let me know. That means a lot to me. As far as how to count it for recording purposes for this challenge, the easiest answer is the important part is that what you had in mind is consistent with the goal you set for yourself. So if in setting your goal, you planned on counting it as 1 circuit that’s fine. I hope that makes sense. If not, let me know. And GOOD work!

  2. […] been using this warm-up from Rachael @ The Fitness Gauntlet for the past week or so. It really helps loosen up my hips (which I have trouble with anyway due to […]

Leave a Reply

