Don’t forget where you came from

Posted: January 17, 2011 in ATTITUDE, GENERAL

There is so much to think about in trying to stay fit.  Diets, workouts, resolutions, mantras, competitions, nutrition, personal goals, and the list can go on and on.  When done properly, fitness is not just something you do a few times a week, it’s a process and a lifestyle.  Said differently, it’s a commitment that you make to eat right and stay in shape.  But sometimes it can get boring or worse – you can feel beat up by the process and just need a break.  So what do you do?  Well, I know what I do.  You may be surprised to hear this because I love fitness but I too have moments when I just can’t bring myself to do yet another HIIT workout. Hey, I’m human!

So, what do I do?  I remind myself of the moment when I first fell in love with it and it helps so much.  I have a playlist that I used when I started working out four years ago.  I throw that on and I put myself through the workouts I used to do when I started training.  Because I’ve come far since then, I fly through them.  The process helps me to remember how hard it was when I started and I see the gains I’ve made.  I also have one of the first “diet” meals I’ve ever made.  I repeat the process for about a week and it helps me reset.

The next time you feel yourself getting frustrated – take your own journey backwards.  I promise it will help.

 

 

 

Leave a comment